h1

commitment?

17 September, 2009

This morning I dropped by the high school to check in with the choir teacher, whom I’ve volunteered with in the past.  I was making faces at the students while she took roll when I noticed a quote written up on the whiteboard:

“There’s a difference between interest and commitment.  When you’re interested in doing something, you do it only when it’s convenient.  When you’re committed to something, you accept no excuses; only results.” -Kenneth Blanchard

Whoah.  That’s enough to keep me thinking for the next few days.  I’m interested in a lot of things.  I genuinely enjoy doing most things that I try out, which is great – it means I’m generally a content person – but it also means I tend to lack focus.

I like to think of myself as a committed person, too… but this morning as I stood there in front of 30 middle schoolers singing vocal warm-ups, I realized that I’m not a committed person.  Not really.  I’m an interested person.  And while being interested is good, I also need to be committed if I’m ever going to do more than just drift through life.

So the question becomes this: out of the vast pool of things that capture my interest, which of them will I pull out and choose to be committed to?  Committing to some means that I will have to let go of others.  Yikes… I can already tell that this is going to be a painful process.  Good – and necessary, yes – but painful, too.

What are you committed to?

One comment

  1. Courtney,
    I am committed to serving and uplifting others in whatever way that happens on any given day. What that means to me is that one day I may be helping a friend in need, another day that may mean suggesting a book or program that I know would help someone.

    What is your definition of commitment? Could I support you in expanding it?



Leave a Reply

